The Ichthus men started a new study 2 weeks ago on the book of Acts. I have never taught through the book of Acts, but I am really excited to take it on for the next 6 months or so. I prefer to teach through books of the Bible rather than do topical studies. We usually go back and forth with a short topical study in between books of the Bible. It’s not an original idea, I stole it from my pastor, Matt Chandler, who stole it from some other preacher in church history.

I like going through books of the Bible because it forces me to tackle texts or subjects that I don’t always choose on my own. Going through the book of Acts we will be forced to talk through issues like the work of the Holy Spirit, speaking in tongues, and race relations. We also get a good look at how God built the church using men and women of God.

Acts begins by Luke writing to Theophilus and telling him this is the follow-up to the book of Luke. The bridge between the books is the forty days Christ spent on earth after resurrection and before his ascension. Luke points out the importance of recognizing that Jesus presented himself alive after the resurrection and the coming of the Holy Spirit.

Jesus was a human being with a body when he was resurrected. He was not a phantom or ghost. Many people saw him, heard him, and touched him after the resurrection. Jesus fully conquered death. If Jesus does not fully conquer death then there is no victory over sin and death for us.

Jesus also did not stay around long. He was back long enough to tell us the Holy Spirit was coming. Jesus emphasizes in John 16:7 that it is better for him to send the Holy Spirit to us as a helper. It is very intriguing to me that I am better off with the Holy Spirit here than Christ in the flesh. Further Jesus says we will be baptized with the Holy Spirit. The word picture is that of immersion. It’s too early to get into a discussion about the role of the Spirit, being full of the Spirit, and baptism of the Holy Spirit. But one of the main reasons I am excited about this study is that it will cause us to think about the Holy Spirit and what it means to walk in the power of the Spirit.

Guys come join us Monday nights at 7:30pm. Everyone is invited to read and interact here on the blog. I hope God will challenge us and transform our hearts as we pursue this study.

