Scripture calls us to remember. In the Old Testament we are commanded to remember the sabbath day.  In celebration of the Lord’s Supper we are called to remember the broken body and shed blood of Jesus Christ.  Paul writes in 2 Timothy 2:8 to “remember Jesus Christ, risen from the dead, the offspring of David, as preached in my gospel.” Easter is explicity about remembering the death, burial and resurrection of God. 

I think it is easy for us to become desensitized around Easter because it comes every year.  Our sin hardens our hearts and causes us to forget even more frequently.  Sin is rebellion against God, the very essence of not trusting Him. 

That’s why we are called to remember the gospel. Daily. We need the gospel everyday. Not just the day He saved us. Everyday.  Why? Because I sin everyday. Everyday I rebel against God forgetting His goodness.

In the morning when I wake I should remember that the gospel causes me to see the world differently and places me on mission everywhere I go. At night before I sleep the gospel should remind me that I failed, I was not perfect, but Christ died once for all as a perfect sacrifice for my sins. Before I eat a meal, I must remember that food is not mine by the works of my hands, but it is a gracious gift of God. 

Daily I need to remember that I have been crucified with Christ, it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live now in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me. My hope is we remember and celebrate well the resurrection on Sunday. My prayer is that on Monday morning we remember Christ crucified and risen. My prayer is that on Monday at the slightest sign that we are in rebellion that we would preach the gospel to ourselves. Let us remember what He has done for us.

