In Ruth chapter 1 we get a beautiful picture of gospel community in the midst of great disappoint and bitterness.  Ruth is a Moabite woman who married Naomi’s son.  At this point all the men in the family have died and Naomi tells Ruth and Orpah to stay in Moab as she goes home to Bethlehem.  Ruth responds, “Do not urge me to leave you or to return from following you. For where you go I will go, and where you lodge I will lodge. Your people shall be my people, and your God my God. Where you die I will die, and there will I be buried. May the LORD do so to me and more also if anything but death parts me from you.”

Ruth declares her commitment to Naomi based on her faith in the LORD.  Naomi has nothing to offer Ruth to gain her favor.  When we read Ruth’s declaration we know she understands covenants and that the LORD is a covenantal God.  The LORD is faithful.  Ruth’s faith influences her relationship with Naomi and leads to gospel community.  The words of Ruth should be desire of our hearts for relationships within the body of Christ.  Ruth’s commitment supersedes any personal preferences or comforts.  Ruth says I will be with you until you die, nothing will separate us.  Ruth adds that if she allows anything other than death to separate them then God should bring death to her. 

This should be our heartbeat for those God has called us to walk with.  We will let nothing sway us, no personal preference.  We will not be separated by circumstance or disagreement.  Let us be faithful as God is faithful.  May the marriages within our body exhibit this commitment.  May our men speak truth to one another, challenging each other to walk as Christ did.  May our women exhort one another to be the godly women God has called them to be.  May God help us to walk with one another faithfully as He walks with us.

